The Norwegian currency

Our currency

C. 1000
The first known Norwegian coin is a penny attributed to Olav Trygvason, around the year 1000. For long periods no coins were minted in Norway, and monetary needs were then satisfied through import of foreign coins.

A mint was established in Christiania (now Oslo), using silver from the mines and works at Kongsberg.
Coin production was moved to Kongsberg, where the Royal Norwegian Mint (DKM) is still located

The Norwegian Government decided to use the terms kroner and ore instead of the old terms daler and shilling

Norway uses Norwegian Kroner, 1 krone = 100 ore. We have five different coins: 50 ore, 1 krone, 5 kroner, 10 kroner og 20 kroner.

We have five different notes: 50 kroner, 100 kroner, 200 kroner, 500 kroner and 1000 kroner.

At the moment 100 Norwegian kroner = 9.52 US$